• 5 Years
  • Posts
  • Director's Club in 2024 and more!

Director's Club in 2024 and more!

My 40th entry for my Substack is coming soon before the end of the year (yay!). In the meantime, just wanted to let you know what will be happening in podcast land so you can prepare / get excited!

First and foremost, thank you so much for another great year for Director’s Club. Both Bill and I have had some setbacks involving family so it’s nice to see that there are still subscribers out there. I think it’s inevitable that with other priorities and day jobs, we’ll remain small fish in a big pond but I’m happy with what’s been accomplished so far. The early episodes are different and dated of course; some of them don’t hold up which is why I like doing the updated sequel episodes for directors we’ve already covered. I would like to keep going as both a film podcaster and Substack writer in the new year. Just know that I’ll also be devoting more time to self-care / personal health. My family has a history of diabetes and I’m in the pre-diabetes range (mostly due to a lack of exercise than poor eating habits I’d say). But hey, I can still watch a movie on the treadmill / elliptical after all. I love catching up with music that way too.

I remain grateful for all the guests and listeners out there who enjoy having nerdy conversations with me about an art form that saved my life. I feel like I became a cinephile because I felt more connected to the arts than I ever did other humans. This Substack is a celebration of three things: conversations, film and music. Podcasting has allowed for an archive of conversations which is something I started doing as a kid with a portable cassette recorder. Some of my earliest memories involved writing things down in a notebook - in journal-form and list-making.

Maybe it was due to a poor memory that I was afraid that the moments wouldn’t be captured and preserved so it was a good idea to press record or pick up a pen. Now I see countless other movie and music fans doing the same and it’s (mostly) great. Like a lot of things, there’s a sea of Internet content out there that makes it a blessing - sometimes an overwhelming one, due to how many options there are. I know there are better shows covering similar territory, but I hope that you still get something out of the episodes I post each month. Even if it’s just to listen to my guests speak their passion. I’m mainly just there to listen and support their own projects though of course I can’t help but contribute hence this Substack and the long-running podcast.

As you can see from the graphic above, people truly love the insanely long episodes involving a general summation of a movie year. Both the most recent year where we pick 25 favorites as well as when I am lucky enough to be joined by Erik & Collin for the 30-year retrospective. This year that episode will come a week or two later than usual due to a busier schedule for me (see below for what’s to come). And I guess it was inevitable that the new, updated Paul Thomas Anderson episode was also beloved.

You’re going to get three episodes to start the year 2024! First up, my personal favorite writer working today will be covered alongside previous guest Sharon Gissy since we share a sincere passion for Synecdoche New York. Then Patrick and Bill both return for our 25 favorite films of 2023 episode. Finally, towards the end of the month, Kate Blair is back to tackle the wild mind of Alain Resnais. So, there’s a lot coming hence the desire to take a month off before my birthday month. All the while, I’ll be busy binging on rewatches of 1994 films in time for early March! Lots to keep up with.

I decided to post the tentative schedule for most of 2024 thus far. There will likely be changes and both fingers crossed that Bill Ackerman will be contributing freelance-style if and when he’s able (Jean Luc-Godard is still a project in the works). Please remain both a subscriber here and for the podcast since I always wanted to be a writer and podcasting is something I truly don’t want to give up on. Health comes first obviously, and my mom continues to age in ways that may need extra attention.

So, if things change, you’ll be the first to know. But writing about what I love - I don’t foresee that ever going away. Plus, don’t ask me how or why but Substack has been more fulfilling for me than Patreon ever was so I’m not going anywhere. For those who are kind enough to throw a few bucks my way, it means the world to me. In the meantime, this is where you can find Director’s Club - a show I remain excited about. It’s kind of a weird experience keeping it going and the format tends to change depending on the guest and what they want to focus on. It was another great year of episodes and I’m hoping to continue for as long as possible. Stream/subscribe/love:

2024 EPISODES (subject to change)

Charlie Kaufman w/Sharon Gissy (January)

Favorite Films Of 2023 w/Patrick + Bill Ackerman (January)

Alain Resnais w/Kate Blair (late January)

Olivier Assayas w/Patrick Ripoll (late February)

The Year in Film 1994 w/Erik & Collin (early mid-March)

APRIL OFF MONTH (maybe a surprise?)

Jeremy Saulnier - Mitchell Beaupre (mid-May 2024)

Christopher Nolan Part II - Erik Childress (mid-June 2024)

Michael Mann Part II - Brian Tallerico (mid-July 2024)

LISTENER’S CHOICE (a poll will be posted!)

Guillermo Del Toro - Chloe Waryan (September 2024)

See you in 2024 both behind a microphone + here with plenty of words to come!

Join the conversation

or to participate.